integrity-glyph iyq924

April 20, 2020

Introducing Overpass

Overpass is my personalized pair-programming service for developers to learn modern frontend tooling and frameworks.

h

The Idea

First of all, I think it is worth noting that while I went to college, I did not go to school to be a developer. I was pushed towards development by my first employer, for which I was just a content editor.

I learned development through trial, error, and most importantly, YouTube.

It was not until recently that I realized that while there are a billion tutorials on YouTube, I never came across a service that offered a vital skill that I lacked when I started, pair-programming.

The Name

I started reaching out to my fellow developers to see if the idea was a turd or not. In those discussions, I found comfort in knowing that most people I talked to seem to really like the idea, and find value in it immediately.

In one particular conversation, we got quite deep into why the service could be valuable. This service was useful to a wide range of developers:

As we discussed this further, we struggled to find a tagline. Eventually, words slipped from my mouth that sparked an idea in my friend's mind:

I said:

You know, like bridging the gap for developers to modern stuff.

He quickly agreed with:

Yeah, like an overpass.

I was sold immediately.

I built the site within the week with a little help from Eleventy, TailwindCSS, Svelte, and Netlify. It's hosted on Netlify too!

If you have a few minutes, please check it out for yourself!

Thank you for reading, stay beautiful.

let isSiteAwesome = false

function contactAlec(message) {
return alert(message)
}

if (!isSiteAwesome) {
return contactAlec("Let's work together!")
}

Do you want something new and fresh?

Don't get Bored with a project you don't love. I can refresh, or just rebuild you a new website that will knock your socks off.

Contact